Raising Awareness through Wardrobes & Stoves

节能意识——在衣橱里发现,从炉灶里点燃

Life in both rural and urban areas is changing. In the past, rural communities used bio-mass energy such as firewood, straw and cow dung, but nowadays, skills to make one’s own energy supply are disappearing, as is a way of life connected to one’s local conditions. Villages are depending more and more on an external energy supply and today, electricity has become the norm. Over the past decade, we have worked with partners and communities to reflect on the adverse impacts that the mainstream economy has brought to both rural and urban areas. Together, we have searched for ways to regenerate resources and manage energy consumption sustainably; we have also explored alternative economic models.

Since 2015, we have been in partnership with Baoshan University, Yunnan Province. One project has been to support research on energy consumption in Baoshan City: 30 university students collected information at both the individual and household level, from clothing and food, to housing and transportation to entertainment, covering the campus area and beyond. Interviewees were asked about their attitudes and daily habits, counting the number of unworn pieces of clothing in their wardrobes, the number of expired food items in their kitchens, the amount of food wasted in canteens, how much disposable packaging used, and to estimate their carbon emissions. The research was accompanied with innovative activities such as a wardrobe photography exhibition. The research enabled both interviewers and interviewees to experience and, at the same time, to reflect on how energy consumption relates to overall consumption. Overall, the project has prompted people in Baoshan to think about their lifestyle, and to contemplate how to consume less energy. The research, including its design, execution and communication, was a learning process full of challenges, and the project partners, student volunteers and urban residents  alike were deeply impressed by what it demonstrated.

The handmade wood-burning stove – the embodiment of rural traditional culture – is used nowadays to cook for guests, to prepare food for major festivals, and in worship of the Kitchen God. To increase public awareness of rural energy consumption, and to promote locally appropriate energy-saving stove technology, PCD in partnership with Yunnan Green Environment Development Foundation and Yunnan Rural Energy Work Station jointly organised the provincial-level Firewood-saving Stove Creative Design Competition in 2017. We targeted rural residents, grassroots rural energy technicians, university students, and stove manufacturers, aiming to raise public awareness on energy issues. Out of the 65 submissions from 32 county level energy work stations in 14 municipalities and prefectures, 42 designs were selected for the exhibition. The final review was buzzing with activities. Other than on-site stove installation and efficiency assessments, there was an interesting display of environmental protection posters and a tasting of indigenous potato varieties. Plus, the stoves provided the energy needed for the event.

After the competition, many stove artisans and energy work station staff said that it was eye-opening to be able to see different stove models, meet master technicians, and learn new knowledge. Drawing on the experience, they are keen to continue working to design stoves that are more firewood-efficient, easier-to-use, and more closely integrated with the local environment.

(from Annual Report 2017-2018

 

节能意识——在衣橱里发现,从炉灶里点燃

Life in both rural and urban areas is changing. In the past, rural communities used bio-mass energy such as firewood, straw and cow dung, but nowadays, skills to make one’s own energy supply are disappearing, as is a way of life connected to one’s local conditions. Villages are depending more and more on an external energy supply and today, electricity has become the norm. Over the past decade, we have worked with partners and communities to reflect on the adverse impacts that the mainstream economy has brought to both rural and urban areas. Together, we have searched for ways to regenerate resources and manage energy consumption sustainably; we have also explored alternative economic models.

Since 2015, we have been in partnership with Baoshan University, Yunnan Province. One project has been to support research on energy consumption in Baoshan City: 30 university students collected information at both the individual and household level, from clothing and food, to housing and transportation to entertainment, covering the campus area and beyond. Interviewees were asked about their attitudes and daily habits, counting the number of unworn pieces of clothing in their wardrobes, the number of expired food items in their kitchens, the amount of food wasted in canteens, how much disposable packaging used, and to estimate their carbon emissions. The research was accompanied with innovative activities such as a wardrobe photography exhibition. The research enabled both interviewers and interviewees to experience and, at the same time, to reflect on how energy consumption relates to overall consumption. Overall, the project has prompted people in Baoshan to think about their lifestyle, and to contemplate how to consume less energy. The research, including its design, execution and communication, was a learning process full of challenges, and the project partners, student volunteers and urban residents  alike were deeply impressed by what it demonstrated.

The handmade wood-burning stove – the embodiment of rural traditional culture – is used nowadays to cook for guests, to prepare food for major festivals, and in worship of the Kitchen God. To increase public awareness of rural energy consumption, and to promote locally appropriate energy-saving stove technology, PCD in partnership with Yunnan Green Environment Development Foundation and Yunnan Rural Energy Work Station jointly organised the provincial-level Firewood-saving Stove Creative Design Competition in 2017. We targeted rural residents, grassroots rural energy technicians, university students, and stove manufacturers, aiming to raise public awareness on energy issues. Out of the 65 submissions from 32 county level energy work stations in 14 municipalities and prefectures, 42 designs were selected for the exhibition. The final review was buzzing with activities. Other than on-site stove installation and efficiency assessments, there was an interesting display of environmental protection posters and a tasting of indigenous potato varieties. Plus, the stoves provided the energy needed for the event.

After the competition, many stove artisans and energy work station staff said that it was eye-opening to be able to see different stove models, meet master technicians, and learn new knowledge. Drawing on the experience, they are keen to continue working to design stoves that are more firewood-efficient, easier-to-use, and more closely integrated with the local environment.

(from Annual Report 2017-2018

 

社区经济(最新故事)

Share

節能意識——在衣櫥裏發現,從爐灶裏點燃

节能意识——在衣橱里发现,从炉灶里点燃

城鎮與鄉村的生活方式都在改變:鄉村以前依賴木柴、秸稈、牛糞等生物質能源,現在電能逐漸成為主流,鄉村居民漸多依賴這外部能源;以往因地制宜獲取能源的技藝,乃至相關生活方式和文化,也慢慢消失。社區伙伴在這十多年來,努力與伙伴和社區一同反思主流經濟發展給社區帶來的不利影響,資源和能源必須要從消耗轉變到再生的方向,尋找其它經濟模式的可能。

2015年開始,社區伙伴與雲南保山學院合作,支持了30名大學生志願者走入城市生活,了解保山這座城市的能源情況,從個人及家庭的衣、食、住、行、娛,到校園和社區乃至城市開展能源消耗調查。從受訪者的生活起居和生活態度入手:清點衣櫥中的閒置衣物、廚房裏的過期食材,計算食堂裏的剩飯剩菜、點送外賣食物的一次性餐具的數量和碳排放量…...調查活動不只是收集本地居民消費習慣的資料,也讓訪問者和受訪者同步體驗和思考,過度消費所潛藏耗費過多能源的問題;衣櫥照片展覽等生動有趣的受訪人群回饋活動,讓參與者反思現在的生活方式,思考日常生活中的行為如何減少能源消耗。調查本身是充滿挑戰的學習過程,各方參與者——從項目伙伴到大學生志願者和城鎮居民,都對調查結果有很大觸動。

燒柴的手工灶體現了鄉村的傳統文化——村民在做飯招待客人、逢年過節烹煮食物、以及供奉灶神時,都還是會使用手工灶。為提升大眾關注農村能源消耗議題,促進村民發展適合當地節能技術和灶具技術標準的節柴灶,社區伙伴在2017年和雲南省綠色環境發展基金會、雲南省農村能源工作站,共同發起舉辦全省「農村節柴爐灶創新設計大賽」,向農村社區居民、農村能源基層技術人員、高校學生和節柴爐具廠家徵集創新改造的節柴灶具,並激發公眾對能源問題的興趣。大賽動員了14個市州的32個縣的能源工作站,共收到65份參賽申請作品,入選作品有42個。在最終評審的現場活動中,除了有熱火朝天的手工灶砌灶實際操作和效能評比,還為參與者擺設了老品種土豆品嘗會並展示環保海報,不僅活躍了現場氣氛,更充分利用了參賽選手的爐灶產生的熱能。

大賽後,多位來自村裏的手工灶師傅,和來自基層能源站的工作人員都說:這次看到各地的灶型,認識了那麼多打灶的老師傅,學到了很多新東西,大開眼界,回去會好好借鑒,結合自己當地的情況,繼續嘗試創新,打出更省柴、更好用、更受歡迎的灶。

(摘自《社區伙伴年報 2017-2018》)

 

节能意识——在衣橱里发现,从炉灶里点燃

城鎮與鄉村的生活方式都在改變:鄉村以前依賴木柴、秸稈、牛糞等生物質能源,現在電能逐漸成為主流,鄉村居民漸多依賴這外部能源;以往因地制宜獲取能源的技藝,乃至相關生活方式和文化,也慢慢消失。社區伙伴在這十多年來,努力與伙伴和社區一同反思主流經濟發展給社區帶來的不利影響,資源和能源必須要從消耗轉變到再生的方向,尋找其它經濟模式的可能。

2015年開始,社區伙伴與雲南保山學院合作,支持了30名大學生志願者走入城市生活,了解保山這座城市的能源情況,從個人及家庭的衣、食、住、行、娛,到校園和社區乃至城市開展能源消耗調查。從受訪者的生活起居和生活態度入手:清點衣櫥中的閒置衣物、廚房裏的過期食材,計算食堂裏的剩飯剩菜、點送外賣食物的一次性餐具的數量和碳排放量…...調查活動不只是收集本地居民消費習慣的資料,也讓訪問者和受訪者同步體驗和思考,過度消費所潛藏耗費過多能源的問題;衣櫥照片展覽等生動有趣的受訪人群回饋活動,讓參與者反思現在的生活方式,思考日常生活中的行為如何減少能源消耗。調查本身是充滿挑戰的學習過程,各方參與者——從項目伙伴到大學生志願者和城鎮居民,都對調查結果有很大觸動。

燒柴的手工灶體現了鄉村的傳統文化——村民在做飯招待客人、逢年過節烹煮食物、以及供奉灶神時,都還是會使用手工灶。為提升大眾關注農村能源消耗議題,促進村民發展適合當地節能技術和灶具技術標準的節柴灶,社區伙伴在2017年和雲南省綠色環境發展基金會、雲南省農村能源工作站,共同發起舉辦全省「農村節柴爐灶創新設計大賽」,向農村社區居民、農村能源基層技術人員、高校學生和節柴爐具廠家徵集創新改造的節柴灶具,並激發公眾對能源問題的興趣。大賽動員了14個市州的32個縣的能源工作站,共收到65份參賽申請作品,入選作品有42個。在最終評審的現場活動中,除了有熱火朝天的手工灶砌灶實際操作和效能評比,還為參與者擺設了老品種土豆品嘗會並展示環保海報,不僅活躍了現場氣氛,更充分利用了參賽選手的爐灶產生的熱能。

大賽後,多位來自村裏的手工灶師傅,和來自基層能源站的工作人員都說:這次看到各地的灶型,認識了那麼多打灶的老師傅,學到了很多新東西,大開眼界,回去會好好借鑒,結合自己當地的情況,繼續嘗試創新,打出更省柴、更好用、更受歡迎的灶。

(摘自《社區伙伴年報 2017-2018》)

 

社区经济(最新故事)

分享